Kink For All

I gave my first pervert related talk Sunday at the first ever Kink For All, held at the LGBT Community Center. Let me first say, it was fantastic and I left energized, excited, with pages of notes, some business cards and a whole lot of encouragement.

It was a rather spontaneous decision on my part to speak and I signed up without really knowing what I would talk about. I’m not particularly skilled in anything. I’m usually at the receiving end of other people’s expertise. I thought about doing something related to my Kink + Culture site, but I didn’t want to just do a show and tell. Then it came to me.

Half of my life is firmly planted in the vanilla world and half is pretty solid in the kink world and I like going back and forth across the border. I have a tendency to look at the vanilla world through a kinky filter and the kinky world through a vanilla filter and nothing pleases me more than when those two worlds collide.

I was dating a guy who was pretty vanilla. He wasn’t completely green about kinky stuff, but it became really clear that he just wasn’t into it. Or at least into anything I was into. So, I said to him, “This stuff isn’t really your thing, is it?” And he said:

“Not really. I just like the way it looks.”

At the time, I knew exactly what he was talking about. I got it immediately. But it wasn’t until later that I stopped and thought, what does that mean? What does kink “look like”?

So, I did a presentation called Fishnets and Furry Handcuffs: The Perception of Kink in Popular Culture. It was an absolute blast putting it together, so much so that I can’t stop working on it. It got a very good response and the discussion afterward could have gone on and on for the rest of the afternoon. Now I want to keep going. I think I have a nice little seed of an idea here. I’m gonna water it and see what happens.

On another note, I did my talk in the Keith Haring bathroom, which could not have been more perfect.


5 thoughts on “Kink For All

  1. I, too, am really sad I missed this presentation. I heard such amazing things about it. Are you able to perchance upload your slides to SlideShare.net? If you do, don’t forget to tag them “KFANYC” (and you might also consider adding a “KFANYC” tag to this post, so it shows up in the Technorati tag page for KFANYC.

  2. I’m sorry I missed your presentation, but glad to have met you later during the day. It’s great that you’re going to run with the idea.That Keith Haring room was quite cool!

Leave a Reply

